SHADES for Illustration Friday

It is such a common sight, as I drive from work, to see a group of young men hanging out in the neighborhood  surrounding the high school where I work.  Some of them I know. They were previous students of mine.  The stance is always the same; one eye on each other and their other eye on the look out.  They’re always aware of the action taking place on the street.   So much is at stake.

Sometime I honk and wave at  the one’s I know.  Sometime I just wonder where they’re headed. I’ve known a few who never made it out the neighborhood.  One that stays with me because he died so young; killed after starting a family and trying to get out.  Once you’re in … sometimes there’s only one way out.

Yet I know each of these young men are like the values scales I have them practice. Depending on the pressure put on them, they change to be a different shade ; in the classroom so bright and fun, on the street — darker.  If only  the darker side could be erased away to reveal what I think is the truer shade.

I really like this prompt.  Here’s another image I doodled this week.

About DEBO

Aspiring artist who is exploring her creativity through the medium of ink and digital media.
This entry was posted in art, artist, creativity, Dailypost, Illustration Friday, Watercolor. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SHADES for Illustration Friday

  1. TMartin says:

    Very nice illustration. It captures the feeling of them so well.

    It’s a tragedy, how trapped some of these youth feel.

  2. Cindy D says:

    Terrific illustration. You really captured that street personality which is so often a front for just a bunch of regular guys struggling in a difficult environment. And your written description is really well done, too. Great job!

  3. susangeckle says:

    You did capture the swagger. I think all of us are this way to a degree. A certain wary, watchfullness when we step into the street.

Leave a Reply

