Breakfast for IF

A family superstition that was passed down as I was growing up was, that if you told your dreams before breakfast, they would come true.  I think in truth it was a way for parents in my family to give their children time to fully wake up and let the new day dispel the horrors of nightmares.  Sometimes the breakfast table was awfully quiet. It gave this little kid control over her wicked subconscious. I couldn’t be hurt and my family would be safe no matter what scary tales my mind conjured up to invaded my nightly bliss of dreams.  And when the dreams were good, we had a lively discussion as we lingered over a joyous whimsy. The day’s possibilities were bright.

Breakfast for IF

2 thoughts on “Breakfast for IF

Leave a Reply

