Secret for Illustration Friday

Have you ever just started drawing and just went with whatever came up, like random shapes or squiggly lines? You let it develop it’s own life.  It might look like a Rorschach test for a while. Then it morphs into images that you recognize, but your don’t know what they’re doing together. Still you just let it flow.  You keep working at it, finding patterns and forms you want to develop.  The composition develops with focal area and subordinate elements.  Then, just about when you’re done, you get it.  You see the connection from what you’ve be making to what’s going on in your life.  It’s like you’ve been sitting going over and over a dream that you’ve had when all of a sudden the symbolism becomes clear.  You get it.

That’s didn’t happen with this piece.  It’s still a secret.  Why are there angels? I don’t know.  Where he is pulling her to? I don’t know.  Why is she holding back? What is she about to see?  You tell me.  I painted this piece a couple of years ago.  I’m still wondering about what’s going on with the two of them. Maybe, like dreams  that fade as morning wanes into the afternoon,  too much time has passed, and I’ll never know. Some secrets are never revealed.

 

Secret for Illustration Friday

5 thoughts on “Secret for Illustration Friday

  1. Yes–I often do that, and I really love the process. It’s the point where those random lines turn into something real, and then you fall in love with them.

    This is a beautiful beautiful piece–and intriguing, yes. All those questions. We don’t need answers, though, because it’s fascinating to look at.

    1. Thanks for the comment. I took a look at your “secret” too. He’s a mob boss with secrets we’re better off not knowing about, or we’d have to watch our backs.

  2. This piece draws me in and has a mysterious side. . The two people might be a stand-in for different parts of yourself. Maybe the practical side versus the artistic side?

    1. Hmmm. Two side of myself? Now, I’ll be wondering if it my practical or artistic side that is lead. The mystery depends. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

